Dungeons and Dragons

Beginnings are always the hardest part. Following that is staying on the journey. The first and second proverbial steps, at least for me. I only have a small list of things that I have started and continued doing, in a long list of past hobbies. Dungeons and Dragons is one of them, and I have been thinking about writing a blog about it.

When I first began my adventure, I had no idea what I was getting myself into. That is what makes the best kind of adventures isn’t it? It wouldn’t be an adventure if you knew exactly what you were getting into, now would it? It would take only one game, one session with mostly strangers to hook me into the realm of fantasy role playing games.

I had heard about D&D and I’d always wondered what it was. I remember finding a rule book when I was younger and trying to figure out what video game guide I had just found. At the time I couldn’t even comprehend a role playing game. Like what, I had to play this game using my imagination? It seemed ridiculous to me as I went outside, picked up a stick and pretended to slay undead zombies. Crazy indeed.

dragon

Fast forward a few years and I’m in my mid twenties, with time to spare, and one of my friends invited me to his D&D session, and how could I resist? I felt like a kid going into his first amusement park, nervous and excited at the same time. The 5 hour session flew by in a rush of excitement and wonder, and I came out of the DM’s apartment with a wide grin craving for more. He had crafted stories, and described wonders that couldn’t exist, and had us fight off evil. It was like a fantasy wonderland. He made it seem so easy, guiding us through his imagination, crafting enemies, and illuminating fresh threats. Our party navigated through it all, hacking slashing and wooing the characters he spun at us. It was magnificent. The boundaries limitless. He had created a living, breathing world, filled with unique characters, and he let us loose into it. He described our senses, our desires and thoughts, he was the narrator of a shared world. It seemed impossible, overwhelming.

 

I remember thinking, “I could do this.”

Leave a Reply

